Obama adds two counties state disaster declaration

Wednesday, May 5, 2010 at 5:17pm

President Obama declared disasters Wednesday in two more Tennessee counties because of the weekend floods that claimed 20 lives in the state.

Disaster declarations were made for Montgomery and Dyer counties. Davidson, Cheatham, Hickman and Williamson counties were authorized Tuesday, making federal assistance available to flood victims.

Declarations for 46 more counties requested by Gov. Phil Bredesen are expected, officials said.

“President Obama and the federal government continue to move quickly in their response,” said Bredesen. “As people begin to rebuild their homes and their lives, this assistance will be an important resource for Tennesseans.”

Tennessee suffered 20 confirmed deaths in the violent weather struck the state April 30-May 2.

On Wednesday, Bredesen toured northern Middle Tennessee, including Montgomery and Sumner counties.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the six designated counties can begin applying for assistance immediately by registering online at www.fema.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA.

1 Comment on this post:

By: pswindle on 5/6/10 at 8:05

Thank you, Mr. President.