Dean starts Music Council to boost business in Nashville

Monday, May 11, 2009 at 12:53pm
Staff Reports

Mayor Karl Dean announced on Monday the formation of a new Music Business Council — filled with heavyweights in the Nashville music scene — aimed at improving music business in the city.

Dean’s office said the Music Business Council will “spearhead economic development efforts that capitalize on Nashville’s identity as Music City.”

Dean’s priorities for the Council are to increase the number of live music venues in the city, increase business relations, improve Metro schools’ music education programs, expand the CMA Music Festival and develop a new multi-genre music festival.

The extensive Music Business Council includes artists such as Emmylou Harris and Jack White from the White Stripes and the Raconteurs, along with music industry executives from a wide range of companies, as well as business community leaders.

The council members:

Mary Ann McCready, chair, Floor Bumstead McCready & McCarthy; Tim Dubois, facilitator, Vanderbilt University Owen Graduate School of Management; Jim Hester, Mayor’s Office liaison; Tawn Albright, echo; Connie Bradley, ASCAP; Kix Brooks, Artist; Tony Brown, Tony Brown Enterprises; Steve Buchanan, Gaylord Entertainment; Pat Collins, SESAC; Dean, mayor Metropolitan Government of Nashville;

Kylee Ervin, Diamond Coach; Rod Essig, CAA; Kira Florita, Leadership Music; Jay Frank, CMT; Eric Geadelmann, 821 Entertainment; Tammy Genovese, CMA; Mike Golden, Bandit Lights; Randy Goodman, Lyric Street Records; Harris, artist;

Dan Hays, IBMA; Bart Herbison, NSAI; Pat Higdon, Universal Music Publishing; Jed Hilly, Americana Music Association; Barrie Kessler, SoundExchange; Ken Levitan, Vector Management; Rich Maradik, Gaylord Entertainment; Janet Miller, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce; Steve Moore, AEG Live; Dave Pomeroy, Nashville Association of Musicians; David Ross, Music Row Publications;

Rivers Rutherford, Songwriter; Ralph Schulz, Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce; Jim Selby, Naxos; Nancy Shapiro, NARAS; Butch Spyridon, Nashville Convention & Visitors Bureau; Demetrus Stewart, Pure Springs Gospel; John Styll, GMA; Bo Thomas, Belmont University; Crom Tidwell, CT Merchandising; Cal Turner, III, Cal IV Entertainment;

Alan Valentine, Nashville Symphony; Garry West, Compass Records; White, artist; Jason Moon Wilkins, Next Big Nashville; Jody Williams, BMI; Kyle Young, Country Music Hall of Fame & Museum.