Incumbent school board members stave off challengers

Thursday, August 5, 2010 at 10:11pm

Both Metro school board incumbents have held off election challengers in commanding fashion.

With votes from half the precincts tallied, District 2 board member Jo Ann Brannon has 2,325 votes compared to 1,495 for Connie Hunter and 419 for Davette Blalock. Brannon represents parts of South Nashville.

Meanwhile, with figures from half the precincts in, District 9 board member Kay Simmons has 3,839 compared to 1,680 for Ronnie Osborne. Simmons represents parts of west Nashville.

Michael Hayes, Cheryl Mayes and Anna Shepherd have also been elected to the school board, taking over seats held by David Fox, Karen Johnson and Steve Glover, respectively.

Neither Hayes, Mayes nor Shepherd ran opposed.

1 Comment on this post:

By: govskeptic on 8/7/10 at 4:52

It's a real lost for the board to lose the 3 members that left this yr.