Local teachers' union announces Metro Council endorsements

Friday, July 8, 2011 at 6:37pm
Staff reports

The Metropolitan Nashville Education Association announced Friday its support for 36 candidates in the Aug. 4 Metro election. In making the selection, MNEA said in a release its overriding concern was the candidates’ stances on teachers and students, and their support for public education and school funding.

Nashville is fortunate to have so many dedicated individuals seeking the opportunity to lead and serve our city. MNEA is happy to offer our support and join them as we work together to provide the best educational opportunities for all of the students of MNPS,” Stephen Henry, MNEA vice president, said in release. “Our public school system continues to move forward in meeting the diverse needs of our students. As we continue that improvement, it is imperative to have the support of leaders who understand the issues that matter most to Nashville’s teachers.”

MNEA declined to endorse in six Metro Council districts.

The endorsed candidates are as follows:

Mayor: Karl Dean

Vice Mayor:  Diane Neighbors

At-Large:     Megan Barry

                      Sam Coleman

                       Jerry Maynard

                       Ronnie Steine

                       Vivian Wilhoite


District 1:            Lonnel Matthews, Jr.


District 2:            Frank Harrison


District 3:            Walter Hunt


District 4:            Brady Banks


District 5:            Scott Davis


District 6:            Peter Westerholm


District 7:            Anthony Davis


District 8:            Nancy VanReece


District 9:            Bill Pridemore


District 10:            No Recommendation


District 11:            Darren Jernigan


District 12:            Steve Glover


District 13:            Marilyn Robinson


District 14:            Bruce Stanley


District 15:            No Recommendation


District 16:            Anna Page


District 17:            Sandra Moore


District 18:            David Glasgow


District 19:            Erica Gilmore


District 20:            Buddy Baker


District 21:            Edith Langster


District 22:            Seanna Brandmeir


District 23:            Emily Evans


District 24:            Jason Holleman


District 25:            Sean McGuire


District 26:            Chris Harmon


District 27:            No Recommendation


District 28:            Tanaka Vercher


District 29:            No Recommendation


District 30:            No Recommendation


District 31:            Fabian Bedne


District 32:            Jacobia Dowell


District 33:            No Recommendation


District 34:            Carter Todd


District 35:            Bo Mitchell

Filed under: City News

7 Comments on this post:

By: Nitzche on 7/9/11 at 8:43

I guess the MNEA likes Mayor dean's positon for private schools for he and his friends ?Probably liked Mayor Bredesens's position as well, and while were at it, Obama,et al

By: pswindle on 7/9/11 at 9:14

Thanks, the MNEA is coming alive.

By: govskeptic on 7/10/11 at 5:49

Wilhoite for at large? Give me a break, pswindle would be a better choice!

By: tv8527 on 7/10/11 at 12:19

thanks for giving me the big list of who to work against.

By: localboy on 7/11/11 at 8:29

"I guess the MNEA likes Mayor dean's positon for private schools for he and his friends ?Probably liked Mayor Bredesens's position as well, and while were at it, Obama,et al"...and both Presidents Bush, most of Congress, et al.

By: Nitzche on 7/13/11 at 7:34

Democrats love the private, while telling us love the public.....all republicans send their kids to private schools, what is the point...at least what I am told

By: three3 on 7/22/11 at 12:04

Where is the MNEA leadership?