Up for Debate: AG opinion on 'guns-in-lots'

Thursday, May 30, 2013 at 12:35am

Do you agree with the state attorney general's opinion on the "guns-in-lots" legislation?

Filed under: City Voices
Tagged: Up for Debate

114 Comments on this post:

By: yogiman on 5/30/13 at 8:47

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholders of you "beautiful" idiots. If anyone doesn't think like [you], they're idiots. And you're proving yourselves to be more idiotic every day.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 8:49

Your application of some solemn rite to gun ownership is ridiculous. As with any tool you must be careful in how you use it; but to use for simple enjoyment of blowing the hell out of things is just as valid as enjoying fireworks.

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 8:50

CCP holders commit LESS THAN 1% of the crimes in Texas.

http://www.beaufortobserver.net/Articles-NEWS-and-COMMENTARY-c-2012-12-22-264494.112112-Texas-study-Concealed-carry-permit-holders-commit-less-than-1-of-the-crimes.html

Yet, you liberal jerkoffs spend more time freeing criminals under the 4th Amendment, then attacking people who commit less than 1% of the crimes.

I HATE liberals.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 8:50

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:45

Yes they are.
================================================
Thanks for proving my point! Hope the first time you get caught using guns as a toy (just to blow things up) or amusement, you lose ever gun you have. People with your MO should NOT own guns.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 8:53

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 9:49

Your application of some solemn rite to gun ownership is ridiculous. As with any tool you must be careful in how you use it; but to use for simple enjoyment of blowing the hell out of things is just as valid as enjoying fireworks.
=========================================

Ben you just keep posting reasons that people with your gun mentality should not be allowed to own guns. Shooting is compared to watching firework? LMAO

By: yogiman on 5/30/13 at 9:30

Wow! What an interesting comparison between Abraham Lincoln and Barack Obama.

1. Lincoln placed his hand on the Bible for his inauguration.
Obama used the very same Bible Lincoln used for his inauguration.
2. Lincoln came from Illinois.
Obama Comes from Illinois.
3. Lincoln served in the Illinois Legislature.
Obama served in the Illinois Legislature.
4. Lincoln had very little experience before becoming President.
Obama had very little experience before becoming 'president'.
5. Lincoln rode the train from Philadelphia to Washington for his inauguration.
Obama rode the train from Philadelphia to Washington for his inauguration.
6. Lincoln was highly respected by some but intensely disliked by others.
Obama is highly respected by some but intensely disliked by others.
7. Abraham Lincoln was a tall, skinny lawyer.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
8. Lincoln held to basic Conservative and Christian views.
Obama is a tall, skinny FORMER lawyer.
9. Lincoln volunteered in the Illinois militia; once as a captain, twice as a private.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
10. Lincoln firmly believed in able people carrying their own weight.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
11. Lincoln was undeniable, and without any doubt, born in the United States.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
12. Lincoln was honest, So honest that he was called 'Honest Abe'.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
13. Lincoln preserved the United States as a strong nation, respected by the world.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.
14. Lincoln showed his obvious respect for the flag, U. S. Constitution and the military.
Obama is a tall, skinny former lawyer.

Amazing how closely compared they are.

By: dargent7 on 5/30/13 at 9:32

Ok, here we go again.
The absolute dumbest law passed was 'Guns in bars" where the carrier CANNOT drink. So, the moron sits at my bar or at my table drinking sweet tea for 3 hours watching the game and tips me .50cents-$1.00.
The two guys next to him drink Jack 'n Cokes, have a bar tab over $25.00 and tip me $8.00. Do the math. What patron does a waitstaff person want to serve?
Aside from the fact the carrier had a few beers while mowing the lawn earlier. He's not 100% sober by a long shot. Probably on a menu of meds, too.
The Second Amendment was written in 1789 or so and guns then were single firing muskets. Not semi-autos with 30 round magazines or assult rifles..
To say our Founding Fathers "just knew" what guns would become in the 21st century is idiotic.
Loner is correct: A disgruntled employee who was just suspended, fired, demoted, (or an office romance just ended), has no cooling off period if a loaded gun is in his trunk.
The temptation to act-out knee-jerk is verying tempting. It happens all across America.
The South will not be satisfied until guns are allowed EVERYWHERE.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 9:49

Guns were intended for a WELL REGULATED militia.

By: dargent7 on 5/30/13 at 9:58

You left out, "the right to bear arms...shall not be infringed". That's the part they like best.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 10:05

Heller held that it's an individual right.

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 10:19

I like how blanky picks and choose parts of the 2nd Amendment that satisfy his marxist views.

Kinda forgot a comma or two, and omitted the rest. Classy, oh constitutional scholar.

I HATE liberals.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 11:10

So Jugs - You had rather suck up to the likes of yogi, Ben & bud. Oh & don't forget Raspy.

By: dargent7 on 5/30/13 at 11:11

Read someone sent Mayor Bloomberg letters w/ ricin in it to his office and gun control office? From La.
Obama too.
FBI will get this group/ individual.

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 11:47

@bfra: You betcha, girly. Now, you and your pathetic liberal male friends go have a henfest and get in touch with your feelings.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 11:51

I read that too, dargent. But hey, aren't all gun rights people law abiding? LOL

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 11:55

So, if it turns out that this man is a Christian, gun rights advocate or republican, I fully expect Fox news to discuss what it is about Christianity, gun rights or the republican party that leads people to violent acts of terror.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 12:01

Blanket - There are gun rights people (examples of some post on this board) that are really law abiding only when it suits them and as long as they don't get caught.

By: brrrrk on 5/30/13 at 12:02

Blanketnazi2 said

"So, if it turns out that this man is a Christian, gun rights advocate or republican, I fully expect Fox news to discuss what it is about Christianity, gun rights or the republican party that leads people to violent acts of terror."

Of course not. He'll be a lone wolf; a bad apple; someone who is not indicative of all the uber right wing Christian fringe groups that he "hangs" with....

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 12:10

Allowing employees to keep guns on company property, while on the clock, sounds like a disincentive to locate a start-up business in Tennessee....it's an incentive for existing corporations to pull up stakes.

Why locate a business in a state in which many of the employees are armed and potentially dangerous? Revenge is out in the parking lot.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 12:19

Lone Wolf...Bad Apple? Sounds like new_york_loner?

For most folks, New York means the Big Apple....Gotham....New Amsterdam...that is to say: New York City.

....and "loners" are getting a real bad reputation, lately.

It's blatant Lonerphobia....I'm now a victim too.....where do I apply for my government benefits?

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 12:31

Here are just a few "loner" URLs:

http://www.thenational.ae/thenationalconversation/comment/woolwich-and-boston-incidents-show-loner-jihad-cannot-be-ignored

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/loner-gun-victim-found-in-field-ran-porn-network-from-home-29303906.html

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/killers-executed-loner-in-woods-over-guns-seizure-29281928.html

http://radaronline.com/exclusives/2013/05/cleveland-kidnap-suspect-was-a-loner-and-a-little-bit-weird-ex-bandmate-reveals/

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:33

I would think that they would open themselves up to lawsuits if they allowed it.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 12:35

The truth is that the rest of the media is salivating waiting for one of the nuts who lose it to turn out to be a conservative. The stories have already been written about the Rush Limbaugh subscription and Glenn Beck books along-side the pipe-b@mbs, etc. They just have not come across the right nut yet but when they do it will be a ridiculous pile-on screaming 'Tea Party!' 'NRA!' and every other organization the left has wet dreams over demonizing.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:37

As if the right doesn't demonize every movement the left makes. Seriously.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:40

What about the GOP and their made up scandals?

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 12:44

The new buzzword in the War on Terror,,,,the Holy War...."Lone Wolf Terrorist".

From Google News:

http://www.france24.com/en/20130530-france-soldier-london-stabbing-muslim-convert-lone-wolf

http://www.theworld.org/2013/05/jihadi-mastermind-known-for-encouraging-lone-wolf-attacks-was-handed-by-cia-to-syria/

http://www.cnn.com/2013/05/23/world/europe/london-attack-lone-wolf-fears/index.html

http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/05/24/18471226-are-lone-wolf-attacks-the-new-path-to-terror?lite

http://english.alarabiya.net/en/views/news/world/2013/05/26/-Lone-Wolves-strike-in-London-and-Paris-.html

http://www.latinospost.com/articles/20086/20130527/tamerlan-tsarnaev-lone-wolf-self-radicalized-before-boston-marathon-bombings.htm

http://www.upi.com/Top_News/US/2013/05/24/Report-Feds-call-marathon-bomb-suspect-lone-wolf/UPI-18671369439088/

Google lists page after page of "Lone Wolf" news items....the term is here to stay....it's unfair to loners and to wolves...we will sue!

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 12:46

Your confirmation bias is showing Blanket.

Might want to lift up out of /r/politics for a few minutes and see what's really going on.

http://www.newsmax.com/Headline/obama-job-approval-irs/2013/05/30/id/507088

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:50

Yeah, Ben. The GOP loves to make accusations then hide when they are proven false. BTW, his approval is still much better than the GOP!

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 12:50

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 1:33

I would think that they would open themselves up to lawsuits if they allowed it.

I agree....the stockholders of many large corporations might frown on the idea of doing business in a state with a frontiersman attitude in the statehouse and Governor's mansion.... the legal and moral liabilities could be off-putting....too much risk...no bucks, just bangs.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:52

Fake Republican Scandals Backfire: Obama’s Approval Jumps As GOP’s Hits Record Low

http://aattp.org/fake-republican-scandals-backfire-obamas-approval-jumps-gops-hits-record-low/

By: brrrrk on 5/30/13 at 12:52

BenDover said

"The truth is that the rest of the media is salivating waiting for one of the nuts who lose it to turn out to be a conservative."

Oh, like the right winger that shot up the Unitarian Church in Knoxville? Yeah, I remember that... the media just went bat-shit crazy over that one.... NOT!!

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 12:52

The poll found that 59 percent of respondents view the GOP unfavorably, a record that has only shown up one other time in the poll’s results since tracking began in 1992.

The Republican Party’s net favorability ratings are down 8 points in the past two months. The amount of respondents viewing the GOP favorably fell from 38 percent to 35 percent, while the number of people who view the party unfavorably climbed five points, up from 54 percent in March.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 1:02

Ben has a point, outlaws who want to keep guns & ammo in their vehicles will continue to do so....some of those people could snap....in which case, it would be good to have some armed heroes shoot the berserk shooter, before he/she shoots anyone.

Trouble is, law-abiding permit-holders are also human beings....and if provoked to rage, they could quickly become former-law-abiding gun-owners.

Nobody knows for sure who is apt to snap. Cops snap....soldiers snap....lovers snap....drivers snap.....fired workers snap....the list goes on.

Having the gun(s) close at hand is like shortening the fuse on a stick of dynamite.

By: Jughead on 5/30/13 at 1:10

Eric Holder lying under oath is fine with f*&wad liberals.

I HATE liberals. Really. I'd be happy visiting their graves.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 1:13

Where was Obama while Benghazi was going on?

What about all the high level WH meetings by IRS heads and the leaders of the IRS employee union while same was targeting conservative political groups during an election year?

What's up with using obscure espionoge laws to investigate reporters and citizens critical of the President's politics?

You guys would be screaming to high heavens if it was Bush.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 1:15

I also think Fast and Furious needs a fresh look now that the Obama love goggles are finally starting to wear off in the media.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 1:19

Ben, I am outraged about the investigation of reporters. Thanks for asking. I also am skeptical about the drones so I do have issues but I can tell the difference between real issues and the GOP's made up scandals.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 1:19

Brrrrk, I remember the right winger that shot up the Unitarian Church in Knoxville...I am a UU member myself. Very tragic.

There are people like Jughead out there who openly brag online about hating liberals and how he wishes us "libtards" to be dead. Sadly, some of these haters are armed....and these cowards go for the soft targets.

When hate hit a UU church in Knoxville, Holy War came to TN...a "lone wolf", on a lethal mission, was channeling the wrath of his God....he had "righteous indignation"....he too hated liberals.

Hopefully, the Nashville City Paper has alerted the authorities....Jughead is simply too creepy to be ignored.

By: Blanketnazi2 on 5/30/13 at 1:20

Well, you can spend all day sorting through made up scandals or we can have Congress address real issues and do their damn job for a change.

By: Libertine on 5/30/13 at 1:22

It has been illegal to be in possession of a gun if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs ever since the shall issue law was passed. It doesn't matter if you are in a restaurant or anywhere else. What is the difference of walking down a crowded public street or a movie theater or at McDonald's or at a public park for a permit holder? Barring guns in parks and restaurants where alcohol is served are just Jim Crow type laws to restrict and inconvenience us while exercising our civil right of self defense.

Not having a gun nearby when someone snaps leaves innocents defenseless. Your irrational and unfounded fears are just silly Loner, none of the prophecies of carnage with expanded self defense rights have come to pass.

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 1:26

Loner - Ben fits in that catagory, also. He likes to see things blow up, as he has stated many, many times .

By: bfra on 5/30/13 at 1:28

Blanke - Congress is too busy trying to get the Washington Redskins to change their name. Too hell with important gov. business!

By: Libertine on 5/30/13 at 1:32

Darg,

Actually there were semi-automatic rifles that had 22 shot magazines around in 1789.

The bar story is just a rant.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 1:38

Ben, Ben, Ben....

The "crux" of the Benghazi tragedy is this:

Was the Benghazi tragedy a planned terrorist attack or was it a spontaneous terrorist attack? Is that detail really relevant, or is this a Republican attempt to smear Hillary Clinton?

Did the Obama Administration knowingly and deliberately mislead the American people, or were they understandably confused?

Since US interests were being targeted by protesters all across the globe on the anniversary of the 9-11 attacks....(the "Innocence of Muslims" video was creating pandemonium in the Islamic world)....in the midst of all hell breaking loose, terrorists in Libya hit a US diplomatic outpost in Benghazi.

In the "fog of war", nobody knew all the facts immediately....mistakes were made, yes...everyone admits that....but to label this a "White House scandal" is politically super-charged hyperbole.

By: brrrrk on 5/30/13 at 1:48

bfra said

"Loner - Ben fits in that catagory, also. He likes to see things blow up, as he has stated many, many times" .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KUtdXzBSVaU

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 1:53

Libertine Lectures Loner: Your irrational and unfounded fears are just silly Loner, none of the prophecies of carnage with expanded self defense rights have come to pass.

"Expanded self defense rights"? You mean like those rights exercised by the Nancy Lanza household? If the horror in Newtown CT wasn't carnage, I don't know what is.

By: brrrrk on 5/30/13 at 1:55

The Ben and Jughead Show...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHkvD7-u7y8

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 2:00

Brrrrk...LOL on your 2:48 link.

Nuthin' funnier than a moonshine still 'splodin"...'cept maybe a pianist at a grand piano 'splodin' on a stage....yee-haw.

By: BenDover on 5/30/13 at 2:11

The film was just a canned distraction loner... no one had heard of it until our embassy apologized for it in Egypt.

America the 'Evil Satan!' didn't play well against Obama portraying himself as foreign policy messiah and savior of the Middle East. Then it became the convenient excuse for Obama not taking the 4am call for Benghazi when the Islamic Fast and Furious operation to arm the Syrian Rebel / Al Qaeda terrorist thing blew up..

All of these actions that lead to scandals had the expressed purpose of re-electing Obama. In the case of Benghazi and AP they were playing defense... with the IRS they were playing offense.

The Media was on-board until AP, et al, found out after the election they were being spied upon too. Candy Crowley even pinch-hit for Obama during the debates.

These guys are so corrupt that their corruption doesn't even stand out against their other corruption.

By: Loner on 5/30/13 at 2:13

They blowed up real good....like the GOP and Benghazi...they done blowed it up good...real good. ...like an old inner tube from a Farmall "H" rear tire....the Republicans are trying to float on the old tube, down the Potomac River, but the old tube's leaking air.... and the tide has changed...they could be swept out to sea?