Another day, another award for Vanderbilt freshman

Wednesday, December 9, 2009 at 5:00pm

Vanderbilt’s Warren Norman added to his trophy case Wednesday when he was named the Southeastern Conference Freshman of the Year in voting by the league’s 12 coaches.

The award was one of seven individual honors announced by the conference office. Others recognized included Florida’s Tim Tebow, a Heisman Trophy finalist, and Alabama’s Rolando McClain.

The recognition gave Norman a sweep of the conference’s top freshman honors, a first for any Commodore. The Associated Press also named him SEC Freshman of the Year on Monday.

VU’s Kwane Doster was the coaches’ choice but not the AP’s selection for Freshman of the Year in 2002.

Norman also was named second-team All-SEC as a return specialist by the coaches on Tuesday.

A 5-foot-10, 188-pound running back out of Stone Mountain, Ga., he set numerous conference and university records for all-purpose yards, including Herschel Walker’s SEC freshman record, which had stood since 1981.

Norman led the SEC with an average of 161.8 all-purpose yards per game and became the first player in conference history to return three kickoffs for touchdowns in the same season. He also was the Commodores’ leading rusher with 783 yards.

The SEC will announce its All-Freshman team on Thursday, and it seems certain Norman will be included on that unit as well.