Coaches ignore Commodores for All-SEC hoops awards

Tuesday, March 12, 2013 at 12:15pm

For the first time since 1990, the Southeastern Conference men’s basketball coaches left Vanderbilt off the league’s all-conference teams.

Of the 32 players selected to the first team, second team, freshman team and defensive teams on Tuesday, none play for Vanderbilt. Auburn was the only other school out of 14 institutions without a player receiving all-conference recognition.

The Associated Press All-SEC teams will be announced later this week. The last time the Commodores failed to collect any postseason accolades was 1977.

The Commodores concluded the regular season with a 14-16 record and an 8-10 mark in league play to finish in 10th place. In 1990, Vanderbilt won the NIT and was 21-14. But the Commodores were just 7-11 in the SEC to tie for seventh place.

This year, Kedren Johnson represented Vanderbilt’s best chance to earn league honors. The sophomore point guard ranked 13th in the SEC in scoring (13.6 points per game) and sixth in assists (3.6).

Coaches voted on eight-member teams for the first team, second team and freshman team. Just five players were voted on for the defensive team, though ties were not broken for any team. Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

Tennessee had two players earn all-conference honors. Guard Jordan McRae was named to the first team after finishing fourth in the league with 16.2 points a game. Sophomore forward Jarnell Stokes was tabbed to the second team. The Memphis native was the only player in the league to average a double-double with 13.1 points and 10.7 rebounds a game.

Georgia’s Kentavious Caldwell-Pope was named the player of the year. Kentucky’s Nerlen Noels collected both the freshman and defensive player of the year awards. Kentucky teammate Kyle Wiltjer was named the sixth man of the year. Florida’s Patric Young earned the SEC scholar-athlete of the year award. Florida’s Billy Donovan was named the SEC coach of the year.

The SEC Tournament begins Wednesday at Bridgestone Arena. Tennessee is the No. 5 seed and will play either South Carolina or Mississippi State at 2:30 p.m. on Thursday. Vanderbilt, the defending tournament champ, is the No. 10 seed and will play No. 7 Arkansas at 6:30 p.m. on Thursday.

2 Comments on this post:

By: Rasputin72 on 3/13/13 at 6:32

I was not aware that Kevin Stallings had signed any All-SEC players lately.

By: wiseguy1 on 3/13/13 at 7:41

This should be no surprise to anybody. Which particular Commodore stood out in a positive manner on a regular basis?