Corbin, Price pick up SEC hardware

Tuesday, May 22, 2007 at 1:00am

Vanderbilt�s Tim Corbin was named Southeastern Conference Baseball Coach of the Year, while VU�s David Price was named Pitcher of the Year on Tuesday by a vote of the league�s 12 coaches.

Florida first baseman Matt LaPorta was selected as Player of the Year, while Ole Miss outfielder Jordan Henry was named SEC Freshman of the Year. Alabama outfielder Emeel Salem was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year.

In his fifth year in Nashville, Corbin led the No.1-ranked Commodores to a 46-10 overall record and a 22-8 record in conference play to win the SEC Championship. The overall win total is the best in school history, ahead of the 45 set in 2004, while the 22 conference wins is the most by a SEC team since South Carolina won 25 in 2000.

Price, a junior left-hander, is 10-0 and has 164 strikeouts this season, which tops his own previous single-season school record of 155 set in 2006.

LaPorta is hitting an SEC-best .419 with 59 runs, 51 walks, 50 RBI and 19 home runs. He leads the league with an .838 slugging percentage and an on-base percentage of .591.


1B - Matt LaPorta, Florida

2B - Travis Jones, South Carolina

3B - Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt

SS - Zack Cozart, Ole Miss

C - Edward Easley, Mississippi State

OF - Emeel Salem, Alabama

OF - Dominic de la Osa, Vanderbilt

OF - Brian Leclerc, Florida

DH - Phil Disher, South Carolina

P - David Price, Vanderbilt

P - Nick Schmidt, Arkansas

P - Jess Todd, Arkansas

RP - Casey Weathers, Vanderbilt


1B - Justin Smoak, South Carolina

2B - Jeffrey Rea, Mississippi State

3B - James Darnell, South Carolina

SS - Ryan Flaherty, Vanderbilt

C - J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee

OF - Jordan Henry, Ole Miss

OF - Mike Bianucci, Auburn

OF - Julio Borbon, Tennessee

DH - Alex Avila, Alabama

P - Lance Lynn, Ole Miss

P - James Adkins, Tennessee

RP - Jared Bradford, LSU

RP - Cody Satterwhite, Ole Miss


1B - Yan Gomes, Tennessee

2B - Robert Brooks, Auburn

2B - Zach Miller, Ole Miss

3B - Connor Powers, Mississippi State

SS - Cole Figueroa, Florida

C - Sean Ochinko, LSU

OF - Jordan Henry, Ole Miss

OF - Blake Dean, LSU

OF - Matt den Dekker, Florida

OF - Jonathan Pigott, Florida

DH - Jeff Lockwood, Tennessee

P - Mike Minor, Vanderbilt

P - Nathan Baker, Ole Miss

RP - Dallas Keuchel, Arkansas

Filed under: Sports