Mack Brown named 2013 Neyland Trophy recipient

Wednesday, March 27, 2013 at 10:37pm
Staff reports

University of Texas coach Mack Brown will be honored by the University of Tennessee as the 2013 winner of the Neyland Trophy, presented by the Knoxville Quarterback Club, Tennessee announced Wednesday.

The award has been presented annually to someone who has contributed greatly to college athletics as a way to honor the memory of General Robert Neyland, the legendary coach of the Volunteers.

"Having grown up in Middle Tennessee, the legend of General Neyland has been with me all of my life," Brown said in a statement. "From the time I was a little kid, I can remember my dad and granddad, who were both football coaches, talking about him. I came to respect not only what he meant to the game of college football and to our state of Tennessee, but also what his military service meant to America.

"I have always respected his patriotism, and it is a true honor to be able to stand in the stadium named for him and receive an award that bears his name. When I look at the list of coaches who have gotten this award, I am both humbled and honored."

Brown has been a college football coach for 40 years, including 29 as a head coach. He has spent the last 15 seasons at Texas, where he is 150-43. His career record is 236-117-1.

The award will be presented 10 a.m. April 20 at a brunch in Knoxville hosted by the East Tennessee Chapter of the National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame. Brown also will be recognized later that day at the Volunteers’ spring football game.

Previous winners include Phil Fulmer (2009), Barry Switzer (2005), Eddie Robinson (1999), and Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant (1983).

1 Comment on this post:

By: courier37027 on 3/29/13 at 11:26

Maybe Vince Young can hit up his old college coach for a free meal.