Mawae part of NFL All-Decade Team

Wednesday, January 27, 2010 at 9:04pm

Tennessee Titans center Kevin Mawae has been named to the 2000s NFL All-Decade team, according to the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee, that will announce the full team on Sunday.

The NFL All-Decade teams are chosen every 10 years by selection committee members.  The 2000s will mark the ninth All-Decade team to be selected in NFL history.

Mawae is one of a dozen members of the All-Decade Team participating in Sunday’s Pro Bowl in Miami, and they were publicly announced.

Other members of the All-Decade Team include San Diego tight end Antonio Gates, Carolina Panthers defensive end Julius Peppers, Baltimore Ravens linebacker Ray Lewis, Dallas Cowboys linebacker DeMarcus Ware and Denver Broncos cornerback Champ Bailey.

For more on Mawae and other Pro Bowlers named to the team, click here.

The complete 2000s NFL All-Decade team will be revealed during a special Pro Bowl edition of ESPN’s Sunday NFL Countdown, airing at 4:30 p.m.

This decade’s 53-player team will be comprised of two quarterbacks, four running backs, one fullback, four wide receivers, two tight ends, four offensive tackles, four guards, two centers, four defensive tackles, four defensive ends, six linebackers, four cornerbacks, four safeties, two kickers, two punters, two kick returners and two punt returners. 

Two head coaches have also been chosen.