New format means formidable VU women's hoops schedule

Thursday, August 27, 2009 at 4:08pm

A change in the Southeastern Conference’s scheduling format for women’s basketball helped generate a 2009-10 schedule in which nearly two-thirds of Vanderbilt’s games will be against teams that reached the postseason in 2008-09.

For the first time, SEC teams will play 16 conference games. To do so, they will face five teams in home-and-home series’ and the rest once apiece, according to the 2009-10 schedule which was released Thursday.

The teams Vanderbilt will face twice are: Tennessee, Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss and Mississippi State – all of which participated in one of the postseason tournaments this past spring.

Tennessee, Ole Miss and Mississippi State all defeated VU last season, when the Commodores went 26-9 overall and won the SEC tournament championship.

Non-conference play will include trips to Notre Dame and St. Joseph’s and a visit from California-Riverside. Notre Dame and UC-Riverside also defeated Vanderbilt a year ago.

In all, the Commodores will play 29 games – 19 against 2008-09 postseason participants.