Vanderbilt baseball doubles up in national award nominations

Thursday, June 6, 2013 at 5:17pm
Staff reports

The finalists for the Dick Howser Trophy are a mix of position players and pitchers.

And Vanderbilt has one of each.

On Thursday, second baseman Tony Kemp and right-handed pitcher Tyler Beede were named two of the five finalists for the award, which is presented annually on behalf of the Easton Foundations to the nation’s best college player.

The other finalists re San Diego outfielder Kris Bryant, North Carolina third baseman Colin Moran and Stanford pitcher Mark Appel. The winner will be announced on June 15, prior to the opening of the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

The nomination is the latest accolade for Kemp, who recently was named the Southeastern Conference pitcher of the year and Louisville Slugger All-American. The Franklin native ranks second in the country with 102 hits and leads the SEC in batting average (.398), runs scored (64) and stolen bases (32).

Beede leads the nation with a 14-0 record in 16 starts. The sophomore from Auburn, Mass., has a 2.20 ERA, opponents are only batting .177 against him and he has thrown 101 strikeouts. Beede has also been named a finalist for USA Baseball’s Golden Spikes Award and earned second-team Louisville Slugger All-American honors.

Previous winners of the Dick Howser Trophy include former Vanderbilt ace David Price, Buster Posey, Stephen Strasburg, Rickie Weeks, Jered Weaver, J.D. Drew, Todd Helton and Robin Ventura.