Vanderbilt baseball lands seven players on various all-SEC teams

Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at 1:52pm
Staff reports

Vanderbilt’s dominant 2011 Southeastern Conference season didn’t go unnoticed.

The Commodores landed seven on the all-conference teams — voted on by league coaches — as Grayson Garvin was named the SEC Pitcher of the Year and Tony Kemp was named the SEC Freshman of the Year.

Garvin, a junior from Suwanee, Ga., is the first Vanderbilt pitcher to earn the honor since David Price did so in 2007. Kemp, a product of nearby Centennial High in Franklin, is the first Commodore freshman to receive the award since Mike Minor earned it four years ago.

The left-handed Garvin went 11-1 during the regular season and was 9-0 in 10 SEC starts. Vanderbilt’s Saturday starter won four of his five starts after the Commodores suffered a loss in the opening game of a series. He has a 2.54 ERA and 79 strikeouts in 89 1/3 innings pitched.

Kemp, who bats left-handed but throws with his right, was a sparkplug as the team’s leadoff hitter. He has played in 52 of Vanderbilt’s 53 games and has 21 multi-hit games. The left fielder is currently riding a 13-game hitting streak and is batting .342 with 12 extra-base hits and 48 runs scored.

Joining Garvin and Kemp on the first team was Vanderbilt first baseman Aaron Westlake.

Third baseman Jason Esposito, designated hitter Conrad Gregor and pitcher Sonny Gray were named to the second team. 
Kemp, Gregor and relief pitcher Kevin Ziomek were named to the all-freshman team. Gray and Esposito earned all-defensive team honors.

Vanderbilt shared the SEC regular-season title with Florida and defending national champion South Carolina after all three teams finished with identical 22-8 records.

The second-ranked Commodores (44-9) open the eight-team, double-elimination SEC Tournament against Georgia at about 7:30 p.m. on Wednesday in Hoover, Ala. Freshman and regular midweek starter T.J. Pecoraro (7-0) will get the start on the mound.



 Mike Zunino, Florida

Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt

 Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

James McCann, Arkansas

Ray Tanner, South Carolina


1B - Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt

2B - Scott Wingo, South Carolina

3B - Thomas McCarthy, Kentucky

SS - Casey McElroy, Auburn

C - Mike Zunino, Florida               

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU               

OF - Preston Tucker, Florida         

OF - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt

DH - Brian Johnson, Florida

P - Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt

P - Michael Roth, South Carolina                              

RP - Matt Price, South Carolina 

SECOND TEAM                                   

1B - Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B - Josh Adams, Florida

2B - Alex Yarbrough, Ole Miss

3B - Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt

SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida

C - Tony Caldwell, Auburn

OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama

OF - Mason Katz, LSU

OF - Chad Wright, Kentucky

DH - Conrad Gregor, Vanderbilt

P - DJ Baxendale, Arkansas; Hudson Randall, Florida       

P - Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt; Alex Meyer, Kentucky

RP - Caleb Reed, Mississippi State


1B - Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas                

2B - JaCoby Jones, LSU

3B - Zack Powers, Florida

SS -  Adam Frazier, Mississippi State

C - Ty Ross, LSU

OF - Tony Kemp, Vanderbilt         

OF - C.T. Bradford, Mississippi State

OF - Andrew Toles, Tennessee
DH - Conrad Gregor, Vanderbilt                  

P - Karsten Whitson, Florida         

P - Forrest Koumas, South Carolina 

RP - Kevin Ziomek, Vanderbilt

ALL DEFENSIVE TEAM                     

P - Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt

1B - Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas              

1B - Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B - Scott Wingo, South Carolina

SS - Nolan Fontana, Florida

3B - Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt

C -  Mike Zunino, Florida                

OF - Taylor Dugas, Alabama          

OF - Mikie Mahtook, LSU               

OF - Zach Cone, Georgia

OF - Jackie Bradley Jr., South Carolina