Vandy, UT represented on All-SEC squad

Tuesday, July 22, 2008 at 2:20am

The LSU Tigers led all teams with 14 players selected to the 2008 Southeastern Conference Coaches preseason All-SEC Football Team, announced today.

Florida was the only other SEC team with double figure selections with ten. There were first, second and third-teams selected for this year's coaches pre-season squad.

Georgia had nine players selected to the three squads followed by Alabama, Auburn and South Carolina with eight and Tennessee had seven. Kentucky had five selections while Ole Miss and Mississippi State had four each, Arkansas had three and Vanderbilt had two.

Vanderbilt cornerback D.J.Moore and Tennessee's Eric Berry and Rico McCoy were named to the first team defense. UT's Arian Foster and Anthony Parker were named to the first-team offense.

Ole Miss offensive lineman Michael Oher, Arkansas center Jonathan Luigs and Mississippi State defensive back Derek Pegues were repeat first-team selections from the 2007 Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Team.

This is the fifth year of the SEC Coaches Pre-Season All-SEC Football Team. It is released in advance of the 2008 SEC Football Media Days, which will be held July 23-25, at the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Ala. Media in attendance at SEC Football Media Days will vote on the All-SEC Team and a predicted order of finish for the league.

Filed under: Sports